And That’s How It’s Done

The other day there were two adorable girls in my store, likely in their late teens. That statement is enough in itself, including “adorable” and “teen” in the same sentence. Just kidding………teens are great. Anyways, one (we’ll call her Girl One) was shopping for shoes for a dress she had yet to purchase and didn’t know what she wanted except that she wanted heels but shouldn’t because her boyfriend was the same height as her. She was a riot. So friendly but a sort of shy awkward, and kind of flighty but in a fun way. Her friend (we’ll call her Friend) was a little quieter but so cute as well. I helped them best I could but they didn’t end up purchasing anything.

HOURS later, they come back and I walk around the end of an aisle to find them looking at sneakers instead, apparently having forgotten the short-heels-but-not-flats-but-even-the-shortest-wedge-was-too-tall quest. “You’re STILL shopping?!” I asked, smiling. “Yes…” they replied bashfully. Girl One follows quietly with, “…and being awkwardly hit on in Barnes and Noble…” I think she was saying it more to Friend to make her blush, but it was slow in the store and I had no tasking so I took advantage of storytime. “Being hit on, what?! Tell me!” This took them slightly by surprise, but they quickly opened up, Friend starting to lose her shyness as I really listened. The whole thing makes me laugh still.

They were standing in Barnes and Noble minding their own business, looking at books, it’s whatev. A guy walks up to them (“A solid 9.5, but just not my type” Girl One inserts) and tries to hit on Girl One who immediately shut him down as she shoves her face in whatever book she was “reading.” “I was trying to cover up my laughing!” she said. So guy turns his attention to Friend and strikes up awkward conversation that she returns. “He’s cute in a nerdy, awkward way,” she observed. By the end of it, he asked for her number but didn’t have his phone with him so they wrote it on the only piece of paper they had – the back of a ticket stub for That Awkward Moment. “Irony!” Girl One shouts.

I was laughing so hard at this point. They were so dang adorable I couldn’t handle it. What a classic movie moment for their real life! I was SO proud of that guy, having the guts to walk up to a cute girl, strike up conversation, and ask for her phone number. Brilliant. “Even if he doesn’t call or text, that is an amazing story,” I told them, having already exclaimed about how perfect that was and that he did it right. I was proud of them too for being adventurous in their every day and taking things as they came. As they checked out (Girl One did end up making a purchase) I wished them a grand evening and Friend said, “We’ll be back to let you know what happens!”

About and aubrey was her name

I don't know what I am anymore, but I'm resting in the knowledge that no one else really knows who they are either and we are all on the journey to making the discovery.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to And That’s How It’s Done

  1. Tika says:

    That’s hilarious. Glad to hear that there is some relational-connect going on through your job!

Leave a comment